What Were They Thinking?!?

October 26, 2010


We Christians feel we’ve found the best way to live life and, because it’s so good for us, we can’t wait to share it.  Unfortunately, that zeal leads us into some questionable practices.  We’ll hijack pop culture, worm our way into politics and do God knows what else to get the point across.  Every now and then, I’ll see something that makes me think “What the…?  What are they thinking?!?”  Here are a few examples. 

I’ve used this one before, but it’s just too good to let go.  You gotta wonder if anyone stepped back and looked at this after they put in up.

I know this probably isn’t something that a good God-fearing Christian would come up with, but I couldn’t resist.  I found this picture a while back and it won’t leave me alone.  There’s no way those things are comfortable.

Christine O’Donnell may well be the epitome of what I’m talking about.  In her own words:

On masturbation: “If he already knows what pleases him and he can please himself, than why am I in the picture?”

On health care, I think: “God may choose to heal someone from cancer, yet that person still has a great deal of medical bills. The outstanding bills do not determine whether or not the patient has been healed by God.”

On alternative religions: “I dabbled into witchcraft. I never joined a coven.” / “One of my first dates with a witch was on a satanic altar.”

Christine, sometimes you just need to think it and not say it.


One of picture posts wouldn’t be complete without a weird church sign.  I can only hope they’re referring to sin.  Dear God, please let it be that. 

Believe or not, this is actually a pin given to freshmen at Bob Jones University.  What, nobody proofreads anything anymore?

This is just weird.  How the hell are you supposed sleep on these sheets, let alone get freaky?

Being on fire for God can be a wonderful thing.  But, if you’re going to jump into the world at large, you better make sure you understand that world.  I’m not sure I see that happening anytime soon.  Until it does, we’ll have some entertainment.

Pictures courtesy Christian Nightmares and Jesus Needs New PR.  Christine O’Donnell quotes from Huffington Post.

Leave a Reply

