I Am A Snob

October 4, 2010


They say  confession is good for the soul.  I don’t know about that, but it’s definitely good for my writing.  After struggling most of the evening to find a topic, I had given up.  While in the kitchen cleaning my coffee maker, I was reminded that I’m a coffee snob.  Yes, I’m one of those people who consider drinking Maxwell House beneath them; okay, it’s not beneath me, it just really bad coffee.  I don’t have to drink the most expensive coffee in the world, which is Kopi Luwak by the way.  I’m not drinking anything that comes out of a cat’s ass, I don’t care how good anyone says it is.  But, I do buy whole bean coffee of the more expensive variety.  I back off the snobbishness a bit by using a drip style pot instead of a french press, but I have one that I take with me when I go out-of-town; I don’t use it at home because it doesn’t have a timer and I wouldn’t have coffee ready for me when I woke up.  Which I realize is an interesting mix of laziness and instant gratification.  I used to worry about this, but finally decided that if refusing to drink crappy coffee makes me a snob, I’m good with that.

That’s not the only place I feel superior, I’m also guilty of reverse snobbery.  Like a lot of middle-class Americans, I tend to look down on wealthy people; especially if they inherited their money rather than worked for it.  Intelligence is another area where I struggle with snobbishness.  I don’t overtly look down my nose at people who don’t know what I know, but I always feel a smug sense of accomplishment when someone asks me a question or praises me for my knowledge.  I’m sure there are plenty of ways I’m a snob, but one of the worst is that I’m a Christian snob.  I feel like anyone who doesn’t share my intelligent, enlightened views is just a little beneath me.  That I get it and they don’t.  And, that makes me a better Christian than they are.  In my eyes, anyway. 

That’s so wrong it’s off the scale.  It’s like the Titanic of wrongness.  It’s so wrong, it was right but went past that and came back around to wrong again.  If wrongness could be measured, it would…, okay, I think I made my point.  Yes, it’s wrong of me to feel that way and not just because that’s violating my belief about loving my neighbor.  In feeling this way, I act these people have nothing to teach me and they most certainly do.  Even though I disagree with most fundamentalist theology, what I admire about them is their passion.  They believe at a level I can’t seem to match.  Now, sometimes I think they take that belief too far, but that doesn’t make their passion bad.  So, I’m working on cutting that snobbiness out of my life and learning to respect and love all my neighbors.  Especially the ones I don’t really like.

Leave a Reply

