Are You Serious?

August 1, 2010


I know the other day I said I intended to write about things that Christians didn’t like.  Well, I’m adding to the list today.  I’m also going to write about the weird stuff we do.  I’ve messed around with this a couple of times.  One of the first is called “Christian’ as an adjective“.  With this entry, I kind of set a pattern, one I’m fighting a lot lately.  In it, I looked around for some oddities in Christian merchandising and listed them with a brief discussion in my own snarky style.  Then, I made some of my own, trying to outdo reality.  And, I’m here to tell you it wasn’t easy.  I’ve done this a few other times and it’s always the same: reality is at least as weird as anything I can come up with.  Today, I’m not even trying to outdo real life; it’s more than I can handle.  The following sites is 100% grade A, absolutely, positively real Christian weirdness.

  •  Answers in Genesis.    You may know of these folks and don’t realize it.  According to their website, they are an apologetics ministry “dedicated to enabling Christians to defend their faith and to proclaim the gospel of Jesus Christ effectively”.  What they are is a “young earth” group.  These are the folks you hear arguing with scientists, scholars and other ignorant and disreputable types who push the notion of evolution, the Big Bang theory and an earth and universe that is billions of years old.  AIG contends that the earth (and the universe) is only 6000 to 10,000 years old, that humans and dinosaurs lived at the same time and that the story of creation in Genesis is literal truth and not allegory or anything else.  They’re also big on fighting atheism.  Here’s one of their efforts in that vein:

 

  • Quiverfull.com.  If you’ve ever watched an episode of “19 Kids and Counting” on The Learning Channel, you’ve heard of this one even if you didn’t know what it was.  They take the admonition from Genesis to “be fruitful and multiply” literally.  Evangelism is a big deal to these people, so maybe they’re going for an over-whelming weight of numbers strategy.
  • Amazing Grace Baptist ChuchI’m not even going to try to describe this bunch.  Just watch the following video for an eyeful.
  • Dark Roasted Blend.  This site is actually a better version of my “Christian’ as Adjective” post.  But, there are some deliciously odd items here. 
  • You Can Run, But You Cannot HideRumor has it this the group that pushed Anne Rice over the edge and led to her defection from Christianity.  More precisely, the statements from the radio broadcast in this news article.  Of course, they say the article took their words out of context.  Listen to the youtube video down in the article and see what you think.

I’ve always we Christians were a little different from the norm.  I mean, we are “set apart” and all that, but some of this is a little over the top.  What do you think?

One Response to “Are You Serious?”

  1. Allen said

    I find it funny that the Amazing Grace Baptist church has “3 Souls Saved From Hell,” and that’s about it.

Leave a Reply

