Guilty Pleasures

July 22, 2010


Today, while I was supposed to be working, I was surfing around on YouTube and stumbled onto one of my guilty pleasures: “Livin’ La Vida Loca” by Ricky Martin.  Hey, don’t laugh; if you ignore the completely dismissive lyrics, this is a cool song.  It’s got smokin’ horns, a bitchenly surfy guitar line and that kickin’ Latin beat.  All combining to make it impossible for you to sit still while it’s playing.  I also love “Walkin’ On Sunshine” by Katrina and the Waves.  Even the Disney/corporate cover by Aly and A. J. can’t destroy the toe-tapping awesomeness of this song.  And, maybe worst of all for someone who considers himself a rocker, the song “Safety Dance” by Men Without Hats.  Hey, that video has a midget playing the lute and a dude wearing a chicken mask dancing around a maypole; it’s deliciously weird.  My television guilty pleasures are Cops, Cheaters and Tosh.0.  Jerry Springer used to be on that list, but it’s no fun to watch any more.  No fights, no nudists, no food fights; now, it’s just people who sleep with their relatives or cheat on their significant others with someone of the same sex.  Boring, in other words. 

Because of this, I started thinking about guilty pleasures.  Of course, with my definition fetish, I had to look it up.  Hey, ya gotta know what you’re talking about to have any kind of intelligent discussion (although that ship may have already sailed).  Anyway, according to Wikipedia (yet another guilty pleasure), a guilty pleasure is “something one enjoys and considers pleasurable despite feeling guilt for enjoying it.”  Also, “Often, the “guilt” involved is simply fear of others discovering one’s lowbrow or otherwise embarrassing tastes, rather than actual moral guilt. Fashion, music, and food (especially unhealthier foods high in sugar and/or fat) can be examples of guilty pleasures.”  As I thought about it, I began to wonder if there were any Christian guilty pleasures.  By that, I mean Christian stuff you didn’t want people to know about, not the secular, worldly stuff we’re all into and don’t want our church friends to know about.  I’m talking about songs, shows and practices that we secretly enjoy.  Here are some I came up with:

  • Pat Robertson’sWords of Knowledgeon the 700 Club.  I love these, though if you asked me about it in public, I’d deny it to my grave.  I don’t believe a minute of it, but it’s fun to watch Pat’s expression as he tries to “interpret” what God’s telling him. 
  • Faith healers like Benny Hinn.  You ever watch these jokers at work?  They’ll rather forcefully “lay hands” on folks while calling for their healing and, inevitably, the person being prayed for will be “slain in the spirit“.  The first time I saw that happen (which was actually in person), I thought “Hey, he just knocked that dude out!”  Seriously, if I’m asking for prayer, I really don’t want to whacked in the forehead.
  • The Rick Moser Dance.  Okay, this one may sound a little strange, but anybody connected with Methodist youth in the North Carolina Conference knows exactly what I’m talking about.  For the rest of you, here’s a sample.

                                              

            I personally don’t have this particular guilty pleasure, but there are plenty of folks who do.

  • Hand signs for worship songs.  You know what I’m talking about, don’t act like you don’t.  We’ve all seen you when we sing “Lord, I Lift Your Name On High” and “Days of Elijah“.  It never ceases to amaze me how many normally straight-laced people will act like complete goof balls during their favorite song.  It’s kinda neat to see them let down their defenses

That’s all I’ve got for now, but I’m still looking.  What are your guilty pleasures

2 Responses to “Guilty Pleasures”

  1. Derek C. said

    I Love Saftey Dance!!!!

  2. […] intrigued by that stuff.  It’s like watching Jerry Springer or Maury Povich (two of my guilty pleasures, by the way); you know you shouldn’t look, but you just can’t help yourself.  The more […]

Leave a Reply

